top of page

Another two years of this will be difficult to watch


So there are reports suggesting that Arsene Wenger is set to stay at Arsenal next season, despite possibly his worst spell at the club.

The Gunners currently occupy sixth spot in the Premier League after a shambolic display against West Brom which Wenger’s side lost 3-1. A lot has been said about the performance. Some say it was embarrassing, shambolic, pathetic and crap - I agree every single one of them. It was simply a garbage and those wearing the shirt need to seriously take a hard look at themselves in the mirror.

A lot of pundits, including Alan Shearer and Martin Keown say that the players have lost faith in the manager and no longer want him to be there after this season. It was clearly visible that they were no on it against West Brom and just looked deflated and defeated before a ball was even kicked. Some say the players have grown tired of Wenger’s repetitive tactics and the same old system that has not achieved anything in the past 13 years apart from two FA Cup triumphs. I agree that the players must take some responsibility for what is currently happening at Arsenal. But what is being said behind closed doors? Are there internal problems in the dressing room that we don’t know about? It appears so as the team do not look united as they once were.

After being knocked out of the Champions League by Bayern Munich, Wenger sensationally claimed that the club is in ‘good shape’ - financially yes, in football terms it is clearly not, you only have to look at the current Premier League table and what occurred in Europe this season to realise this.

In my time supporting Arsenal, I have never seen such protests to get one man out of a job, a man that will, regardless of what has happened in the past 10 years, go down in the club’s history as the greatest manager of all time. All you see on Twitter these days is Arsenal fans arguing/debating Wenger’s positon and for fights to break out amongst themselves at games is just horrible and quite ridiculous to say the least. I was watching the protests the other day and I turned to my dad and asked if he has ever seen anything like this since he’s been watching them and he said ‘never’ - and he’s been a fan since 1966!!!

The sad reality is that if he signs a new deal then I can only see it getting worse before it gets better. I will always be an Arsenal fan. My dad brought me up to be one. I have seen some great things achieved by Arsenal FC during my time and I used to be embroiled in the happenings at the club. I used to care immensely for the club, jump around like a baboon when we scored and won, and also be angry when we lost. Sadly, this passion and care has faded slowly over the years and this is down to what Wenger and the board has done to the club.

I watch them now because they are my team, but the love isn’t there anymore. If we win we win, if we lose we lose, and if Wenger does sign a new deal, I will really struggle to watch yet another season of mediocracy.

 RECENT POSTS

Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page